Chilli con pollo

If you’re like me and always stock up on cans and have a few different meats frozen, you can always whip up something that’s tasty and quick.

Tonight I made Chilli con pollo and it was delicious!

I have always followed recipes however my partner is one of those “grab that, grab this” throw it together cook and I’m becoming more and more like it. So with this I looked up a couple of recipes just to see the flavours and off I went.

This is a a decent size for 2 people plus left overs.

IMG_5600

250g chicken mince
1 med onion diced, 2 cloves garlic
1 Tbs ground cumin
1 Tbs ground coriander
chilli flakes
1 Tbs dried Oregano
salt
sugar

Brown mince and set aside.  Fry onion and garlic for 5 mins or until soft. Add cumin and coriander and cook until fragrant.Return mince to pan. Stir to coat. Add beans, tomato, oregano, chilli. Add a couple of pinches of salt, tsp of sugar.  This is the part where you just need to keep tasting and adding more chili etc until it’s how you like it.

Now, you can stop here and have it as is especially if you are making a quick meal which is what I did and it was lovely, or if you would like to serve it with rice I would recommend adding about 1/2 cup water, cover and bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes. Remove lid and simmer for 15 minutes or until sauce has thickened.

Serve with fresh coriander.

Leave a comment